CompTIA Certifications


CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst+


The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CSA+) examination is an intermediate-level credential for cybersecurity professionals. The exam will certify that the successful candidate has the knowledge and skills required to:

  • Perform data analysis and interpret the results to identify vulnerabilities, threats, and risks to an organization
  • Configure and use threat detection tools
  • Secure and protect applications and systems within an organization

The behavioral analytics skills covered by the CompTIA CSA+ certification identify and combat malware and advanced persistent threats (APTs), resulting in better threat visibility across a broad attack surface by focusing on network behavior, including an organization’s interior network.

Exam Domains

% of Exam
Threat Management
Vulnerability Management
Cyber Incident Response
Security and Architecture Tool Sets

Intended Job Roles

  • IT Security Analyst
  • Security Operations Center (SOC) Analyst
  • Vulnerability Analyst
  • Cybersecurity Specialist
  • Threat Intelligence Analyst
  • Security Engineer

Organizations That Contributed to Exam Development

  • US Department of Veteran Affairs
  • US Navy
  • Target
  • Northrop Grumman
  • Washington State Patrol
  • Linux Professional Institute
  • Boulder Community Health
  • Western Governor's University
  • BlacKnight Cyber Security International

Why did CompTIA develop CSA+?

As attackers have learned to evade traditional signature-based solutions, an analytics-based approach has become extremely important. CSA+ applies behavioral analytics to the IT security market to improve the overall state of security.

CSA+ also bridges the professional level CompTIA Security+ (which targets cybersecurity professionals with at least two years of on-the-job experience) and the mastery level CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner CASP certification (which targets security pros with five or more years of experience).

CSA+ is government approved

CompTIA CSA+ meets the ISO 17024 standard and is approved by U.S. Department of Defense to fulfill Directive 8570.01-M requirements. It is compliant with government regulations under the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA).

Exam Details

Exam Codes CS0-001
Launch Date  February 15, 2017 
Exam Description The CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CSA+) certification verifies that successful candidates have the knowledge and skills required to configure and use threat detection tools, perform data analysis and interpret the results to identify vulnerabilities, threats and risks to an organization, with the end goal of securing and protecting applications and systems within an organization.
Number of Questions Maximum 85 questions
Type of Questions Multiple choice and performance-based
Length of Test 165 minutes
Passing Score 750 (on a scale of 100-900)
Recommended Experience Network+, Security+ or equivalent knowledge. Minimum of 3-4 years of hands-on information security or related experience. While there is no required prerequisite, CSA+ is intended to follow CompTIA Security+ or equivalent experience and has a technical, hands-on focus.
Languages English
Retirement  TBD - Usually three years after launch 
Price $320.00 USD (See all pricing)